I have a little time before breakfast at Denny’s with my uncle and aunt, so I am enjoying Minnesota ‘nice’ weather at Palmer Park here in Brooklyn Center.

Last evening and this morning I am mildly awestruck at the diversity here, especially so by the number of interracial couples in public. The diversity of the Twin Cities northwest suburbs is striking to a person used to the racially defined suburbs and neighborhoods of Chicago. It brings to mind those depictions of the world to come in Jehovah’s Witness literature.

It was even (confession here) unsettling to my Chicago-programmed mind. Why aren’t people where they are supposed to be?

These are suburbs, yet a diversity we associate with the city exists here, a degree of diversity that is still rare in Chicago.

Why? Is it Minnesota’s ‘liberal’ tradition and ‘nice’ culture?

