I felt bad. 

We missed the grand opening last weekend of the newest of six Kroc Centers built by the Salvation Army in the Midwest.  The Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center located in Chicago’s West Pullman neighborhood on the far south side.

Here’s John Byrne’s Chicago Tribune article on the Kroc opening with some video.  Chicago Alderwoman Carrie Austin (34th) spoke a hope shared by a lot of people when she said that the construction itself provided jobs “that transformed some lives”.

Alderwoman Austin may be prophetic.  I hope, I pray that she is. 

In the days and years ahead, young people and families, men and women, may just be transformed by a Kroc Center offering abundant life, life which Jesus spoke of when he described his mission.  “I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” (John 10:10)

I saw Corps Sergeant Major Vincent Johnson the Sunday before.  He’s one of the energetic Soldiers led by Majors Dave and Darlene Harvey at the Chicago Kroc.  Vincent asked if I would be at the big weekend and I felt badly to say we would be out of town.

Gail and I have enjoyed visiting with the corps from time to time as it’s met for several years in a Chicago public school.  The corps hosts one of the largest Sunday morning Salvation Army gatherings in the Midwest.  In a borrowed building.  Amazing.

It’s been a long sojourn for the Harveys and their growing corps.  Congratulations.  God bless you.

 

