A couple hours ago I walked to breakfast on the Nicollet Mall.  Sunday morning in downtown Minneapolis is appropriately quiet.

This image caught my attention on the way back.  Early morning in cities.

YouTube:   Aaron Copland’s orchestral piece Quiet City played by the Cincinnati Pops

Be still and know that I am God.

My mother’s favorite saying from the pulpit of our Lutheran pastor was a description of humans as creatures with one foot in the air and one foot on the ground.  Reaching and at times in the heavenlies.  Yet so made of clay and of the earth.  I feel that the photo expresses something of this.  Fresh, early blue sky and light reflected.  Yet the gritty dullness of an urban street.

Beauty?  It may be contrary to what some believe.  But cities can and do demonstrate the exercise of the creative strokes God has shared with us humans.  And at times, from the hands of God’s sons and daughters, beauty.

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

